This overview is intended to help public administrations find their way: which tools check or repair PDF documents for accessibility, and which features do the vendors state publicly?
Features at a glance
Summary per group according to published vendor information (as of 10 October 2026); every entry with a source, DokAudit with its own information. One table per group: one row per provider, one column per feature.
- Yes: available according to the vendor source
- Partly: available with a restriction according to the vendor source (the restriction is stated in the cell)
- Not stated: not stated by the vendor: not mentioned on the vendor pages checked – this does not mean that the feature is missing
- (with AI): the feature uses AI (artificial intelligence) according to the vendor source or our own information; the marker is shown in addition to the status
- Numbers in square brackets refer to the numbered sources at the end of the page.
- Summary per group: “documented” = present or described; “not stated” is not counted as missing.
Product and language
Summary: DokAudit: 2 of 2 documented (1 present, 1 described); Accessful: 1 present, 1 described; axes4: 1 present, 1 described; Adobe: 1 present, 1 described; PDFix: 1 described, 1 not stated; CommonLook: 1 described, 1 not stated; CIB ridmi: 1 present, 1 described; PAVE 2.0: 1 described, 1 not stated.
Product and language: features according to vendor information, as of 10 October 2026| Provider | Product type | German-language product page |
|---|
| DokAudit – own information | Web application (SaaS), REST API, Docker container for running it yourself | Yes – German user interface |
|---|
| Accessful – Accessful Hub, Accessful Scan | Web app, API, on-premises; service [1] | Yes [1] |
|---|
| axes4 – PAC, axesPDF, axesCheck, axesPAC | Desktop software, web checker, checking API; service [9, 11, 13, 14] | Yes [9] |
|---|
| Adobe – Acrobat Pro, PDF Services API | Desktop software with cloud feature; cloud API [20, 22] | Yes [24] |
|---|
| PDFix – Desktop, SDK | Desktop (Windows, macOS, Linux), SDK; service [26, 27, 28] | Not stated [26] |
|---|
| CommonLook – Allyant | Browser or desktop application, Office add-in; service [30, 31] | Not stated [30] |
|---|
| CIB ridmi – CIB software GmbH | Cloud service or on-premises [33] | Yes [33] |
|---|
| PAVE 2.0 – ZHAW (Zurich University of Applied Sciences) | Web tool from a university project [35, 38] | Not stated [38] |
|---|
Checking
Summary: DokAudit: 4 of 4 documented (3 present, 1 described); Accessful: 3 present, 1 not stated; axes4: 2 present, 1 described, 1 not stated; Adobe: 2 present, 1 described, 1 not stated; PDFix: 3 present, 1 described; CommonLook: 2 present, 1 described, 1 not stated; CIB ridmi: 2 present, 1 described, 1 not stated; PAVE 2.0: 4 not stated.
Checking: features according to vendor information, as of 10 October 2026| Provider | PDF/UA-1 check | PDF/UA-2 check | WCAG reference of the check | Checking engine publicly named |
|---|
| DokAudit – own information | Yes – with veraPDF | Yes | Yes – WCAG 2.2, shown in the report | veraPDF |
|---|
| Accessful – Accessful Hub, Accessful Scan | Yes [4] | Yes [4] | Yes – WCAG 2.2 [4] | Not stated [4, 7] |
|---|
| axes4 – PAC, axesPDF, axesCheck, axesPAC | Yes – PDF/UA according to the Matterhorn Protocol (axesCheck); ISO 14289 (PAC) [13, 17] | Not stated [13, 17] | Yes – WCAG 2.2 AA (PAC 2026) [17] | own PAC engine [11] |
|---|
| Adobe – Acrobat Pro, PDF Services API | Yes – PDF/UA, version not stated [20] | Not stated [20, 22] | Yes – WCAG 2.0 (Acrobat) [20] | Adobe’s own checker [20] |
|---|
| PDFix – Desktop, SDK | Yes [27] | Yes [27] | Yes – WCAG 2.2 [27] | veraPDF [26, 27] |
|---|
| CommonLook – Allyant | Yes – PDF/UA, version not stated [31] | Not stated [31] | Yes – Version not stated [31] | own validator [30, 31] |
|---|
| CIB ridmi – CIB software GmbH | Yes – PDF/UA, version not stated [33] | Not stated [33] | Yes – WCAG 2.1 [33] | PAC as the quality assurance reference [33] |
|---|
| PAVE 2.0 – ZHAW (Zurich University of Applied Sciences) | Not stated [35, 38] | Not stated [35, 38] | Not stated [35, 38] | Not stated [35, 38] |
|---|
Repair and AI
Summary: DokAudit: 4 of 4 documented; Accessful: 3 present, 1 not stated; axes4: 1 partly, 3 not stated; Adobe: 1 present, 3 not stated; PDFix: 2 present, 2 not stated; CommonLook: 1 present, 3 not stated; CIB ridmi: 2 present, 2 not stated; PAVE 2.0: 1 partly, 3 not stated.
Only fully documented for DokAudit: Repair until the check is passed
Repair and AI: features according to vendor information, as of 10 October 2026| Provider | Create a PDF/UA-2 version | Automatic tagging | Repeated repair until the check is passed; PDF/UA identifier only after a passed check | AI-generated alt text (with AI) |
|---|
| DokAudit – own information | Yes – PDF 2.0, from PDF/UA-1-compliant documents | Yes (with AI) – Auto-tagging; AI structure recognition for multi-column layouts and tables | Yes – Conformance loop until the veraPDF check is passed; identifier set only afterwards | Yes (with AI) |
|---|
| Accessful – Accessful Hub, Accessful Scan | Yes – Result according to the vendor: “accessible PDF according to PDF/UA-2” [3] | Yes (with AI) – AI-assisted [3] | Not stated [3] | Yes (with AI) [3] |
|---|
| axes4 – PAC, axesPDF, axesCheck, axesPAC | Not stated – according to the vendor, axesService delivers a PDF/UA-1-compliant document [14] | Partly – Tagging on export from Word/PowerPoint or via templates; axesPDF for manual correction with automated work steps [9, 10, 12] | Not stated [10] | Not stated [10, 18] |
|---|
| Adobe – Acrobat Pro, PDF Services API | Not stated [21, 22] | Yes [21, 22] | Not stated [20, 21] | Not stated [20] |
|---|
| PDFix – Desktop, SDK | Not stated [27] | Yes [27] | Not stated [27] | Yes (with AI) – via actions in the Actions Marketplace [28, 29] |
|---|
| CommonLook – Allyant | Not stated [31] | Yes (with AI) – AI-assisted [31] | Not stated [31] | Not stated [31] |
|---|
| CIB ridmi – CIB software GmbH | Not stated [33] | Yes (with AI) – AI/LLM-assisted [33] | Not stated [33] | Yes (with AI) – Image alternative texts, AI/LLM-assisted [33] |
|---|
| PAVE 2.0 – ZHAW (Zurich University of Applied Sciences) | Not stated [35, 38] | Partly – recognises text sections and headings automatically; further tagging by hand in the browser [35, 37] | Not stated [35, 38] | Not stated [35, 38] |
|---|
Forms and scans
Summary: DokAudit: 2 of 2 documented; Accessful: 2 not stated; axes4: 1 partly, 1 not stated; Adobe: 1 present, 1 partly; PDFix: 1 present, 1 not stated; CommonLook: 1 partly, 1 not stated; CIB ridmi: 1 present, 1 not stated; PAVE 2.0: 2 not stated.
Only fully documented for DokAudit: Accessible fillable forms
Forms and scans: features according to vendor information, as of 10 October 2026| Provider | OCR for scanned documents | Accessible fillable forms |
|---|
| DokAudit – own information | Yes | Yes (with AI) – also from scans, using AI |
|---|
| Accessful – Accessful Hub, Accessful Scan | Not stated – Processing of scans “depends on the individual case” [3] | Not stated [3] |
|---|
| axes4 – PAC, axesPDF, axesCheck, axesPAC | Not stated [9, 10] | Partly – from Word with axesWord [9] |
|---|
| Adobe – Acrobat Pro, PDF Services API | Yes – “Scan & OCR” in Acrobat; Auto-Tag API processes scanned PDFs [20, 22] | Partly – tag form fields, maintain tooltips [20] |
|---|
| PDFix – Desktop, SDK | Yes – via an Amazon Textract action (cloud) [27, 28] | Not stated [27, 28] |
|---|
| CommonLook – Allyant | Not stated [31] | Partly (with AI) – according to the vendor, AI tagging covers forms [31] |
|---|
| CIB ridmi – CIB software GmbH | Yes – in combination with CIB doXisafe and CIB deepER [33] | Not stated [33] |
|---|
| PAVE 2.0 – ZHAW (Zurich University of Applied Sciences) | Not stated [35, 38] | Not stated [35, 38] |
|---|
Integration
Summary: DokAudit: 3 of 3 documented; Accessful: 3 present; axes4: 1 present, 2 not stated; Adobe: 1 present, 2 not stated; PDFix: 1 described, 2 not stated; CommonLook: 1 present, 2 not stated; CIB ridmi: 1 present, 2 not stated; PAVE 2.0: 3 not stated.
Integration: features according to vendor information, as of 10 October 2026| Provider | Website scan (find and check the PDFs on a website) | REST API | Webhooks |
|---|
| DokAudit – own information | Yes – with PDF report | Yes – with API keys | Yes |
|---|
| Accessful – Accessful Hub, Accessful Scan | Yes – Accessful Scan [6] | Yes [8] | Yes – with HMAC-SHA256 signature [8] |
|---|
| axes4 – PAC, axesPDF, axesCheck, axesPAC | Not stated [9] | Yes – axesPAC (checking); axesFlip as SDK/CLI [11, 12] | Not stated [11] |
|---|
| Adobe – Acrobat Pro, PDF Services API | Not stated [20, 22] | Yes – PDF Services API [22] | Not stated [22] |
|---|
| PDFix – Desktop, SDK | Not stated [26, 27] | SDK and CLI [28] | Not stated [28] |
|---|
| CommonLook – Allyant | Yes – Clarity, with ongoing monitoring [32] | Not stated [30, 31] | Not stated [30] |
|---|
| CIB ridmi – CIB software GmbH | Not stated [33] | Yes – plus connection to DMS/ECM [33] | Not stated [33] |
|---|
| PAVE 2.0 – ZHAW (Zurich University of Applied Sciences) | Not stated [35, 38] | Not stated [35, 38] | Not stated [35, 38] |
|---|
Operation and data protection
Summary: DokAudit: 2 of 2 documented (1 present, 1 described); Accessful: 1 present, 1 described; axes4: 1 described, 1 not stated; Adobe: 2 described; PDFix: 1 present, 1 described; CommonLook: 2 not stated; CIB ridmi: 1 present, 1 described; PAVE 2.0: 1 described, 1 not stated.
Operation and data protection: features according to vendor information, as of 10 October 2026| Provider | Operation in your own data centre (on-premises) | Location of cloud processing |
|---|
| DokAudit – own information | Yes – Docker container in your own data centre, on request (Operation: Cloud or on-premises (Docker)) | Hetzner data centres in Germany; Hetzner Online GmbH is certified to DIN ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (Data centre: ISO/IEC 27001 · Germany) [34] |
|---|
| Accessful – Accessful Hub, Accessful Scan | Yes – also without a network connection (air-gapped) [5] | Germany; ISO/IEC 27001-certified data centres of the hosting partner [5] |
|---|
| axes4 – PAC, axesPDF, axesCheck, axesPAC | Desktop software works locally [10, 18] | Not stated [9, 13] |
|---|
| Adobe – Acrobat Pro, PDF Services API | Acrobat as desktop software; PDF Services as cloud API [20, 22] | PDF Services: USA by default, EU region (Ireland) selectable [23] |
|---|
| PDFix – Desktop, SDK | Yes – Desktop and SDK “fully on-premises” [26] | Desktop and SDK without cloud upload; optional cloud AI actions send data to external models [26, 29] |
|---|
| CommonLook – Allyant | Not stated [30] | Not stated [30] |
|---|
| CIB ridmi – CIB software GmbH | Yes – Container, dedicated server [33] | Data centre in Frankfurt [33] |
|---|
| PAVE 2.0 – ZHAW (Zurich University of Applied Sciences) | Not stated [35, 38] | PAVE server; documents remain stored for up to three weeks unless deleted earlier [36] |
|---|
Prices and getting started
Summary: DokAudit: 3 of 3 documented (3 described); Accessful: 3 described; axes4: 3 described; Adobe: 3 described; PDFix: 3 described; CommonLook: 1 described, 2 not stated; CIB ridmi: 2 described, 1 not stated; PAVE 2.0: 2 described, 1 not stated.
Prices and getting started: features according to vendor information, as of 10 October 2026| Provider | Public prices | Billing | Free entry point |
|---|
| DokAudit – own information | Pilot €0 (20 credits = 100 pages); public sector plan €150/month plus VAT (60 credits = 300 pages); page packs from €390 (780 pages); districts/joint associations individually | by pages, in credits: 1 credit = 5 pages (rounded up per document), with or without AI, re-checks included; in the public sector plan from approx. €0.50 per page; no user licences (unlimited user accounts), public sector plan can be cancelled at any time | Pilot, 20 credits (100 pages) – checking and repair |
|---|
| Accessful – Accessful Hub, Accessful Scan | Prepaid page quotas: 780 pages €1,950, 2,200 pages €4,950, 4,950 pages €9,900 (net); Enterprise and on-premises individually [2] | per PDF page (prepaid, no user licences, no minimum term) [2] | check in the scanner free of charge [6] |
|---|
| axes4 – PAC, axesPDF, axesCheck, axesPAC | axesPDF Team €549 per user per year; axesPAC and axesService on request [15] | licence per user per year (axesPDF) [15] | PAC and axesCheck free of charge [16, 13] |
|---|
| Adobe – Acrobat Pro, PDF Services API | Acrobat Pro for teams €23.99/month per licence excl. VAT; paid API tiers not publicly priced [24, 25] | licence per month (Acrobat); API by Document Transactions, Auto-Tag 10 per page [24, 25] | PDF Services Free Tier: 500 Document Transactions/month [25] |
|---|
| PDFix – Desktop, SDK | Desktop Pro €350, Enterprise €1,000 per user per year; SDK on request [26] | licence per user per year [26] | Desktop Lite (checking) free of charge [26] |
|---|
| CommonLook – Allyant | Not stated [30, 31] | Not stated [30] | 7-day trial [30, 31] |
|---|
| CIB ridmi – CIB software GmbH | “Individual, by agreement” [33] | individual, by agreement [33] | Not stated [33] |
|---|
| PAVE 2.0 – ZHAW (Zurich University of Applied Sciences) | free for personal use [36] | Not stated [35, 38] | free to use (personal) [36] |
|---|
Prices and billing units (document, page, user licence, API transaction) are not directly comparable, so we do not convert them into one another. Which unit works out cheaper for you depends on the number of pages, the volume of documents and the number of people working on them.